Margaret Rome's Blog

head_left_image

Inspections...What Can Go Wrong

What can go wrong with the results of a home inspection?

I prepare my sellers with this statement. Being a former RN, I relate situations to medicine. So a real estate home inspection is like having a colonoscopy and a root canal simultaneously with no anesthesia.

 

After they finish chuckling, I explain that the owners may NOT be home for inspections, but I will be present to represent the house.

 

Home Inspection

 

The issues encountered in the inspections over my real estate career include:

 

Electrical

Plumbing

Roofing

Septic

Sewer

Foundation

Trees

Grading

Gutters

Siding

Doors

Windows

Appliances

Water pressure

Insulation

Attic

Crawl spaces

Survey

Well yield

Water portability

Chimney

Windows

Doors

Fireplace

Radon

Termite/WBI

Mold

Moisture

Smoke /Fire systems detectors

HVAC

Buried oil tanks

etc...

 

And there is a remedy and solution for every situation that may arise.

Not trying to scare you, but it’s better to be informed and prepared. 

Have a question about inspections?

Have a question about selling your home. 

Call Margaret Rome

 

Margaret Rome

 

 

 

 Search All Active Listings

 

Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome

Broker-Owner HomeRome Realty 

signature

 

 

Author of Real Estate the Rome Way

mrome@HomeRome.com

410.530.2400

 

 
Comment balloon 17 commentsMargaret Rome Baltimore 410-530-2400 • February 25 2020 02:21AM

Comments

Morning Margaret.

I stay away from the inspection, it's a long story.  I also tell my agents it is up to them.  After I tell them what happened, most don't attend them either

Posted by James Dray, Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results (Fathom Realty) 3 months ago

Hello Margaret - you are so right when you discuss that preparation is important to keep in mind for sellers(and buyers too) when it comes to the topic of inspections.  Good to remember:  it's the "etc" notation in the report that often needs careful review.  

Posted by Michael Jacobs, Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393 3 months ago

Good morning Margaret. Whenever possible I like to be there so issues can be mediated (guess who the mediator is) right then and there. Enjoy your day!

Posted by Wayne Martin, Real Estate Broker - Retired (Wayne M Martin) 3 months ago

Good morning, Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland no matter what the issue may be, there's nothing within a structure that cannot be fixed or replace.....a location is forever....

Posted by Barbara Todaro, Marketing Agent for The Todaro Team (RE/MAX Executive Realty ) 3 months ago

Former RN here too, I tend to relate so many situations back to medicine as well. I guess once it's engrained in you, it's always there.  Love the way you tied it back to inspections.

Posted by RE Virtual Solutions, Virtually helping real estate professionals. (RE Virtual Solutions) 3 months ago

Good morning Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland - as the saying goes Forewarned is forearmed.  Creating an expectation with your clients avoids upseting them later and hearing them say you never told us that.

Posted by Grant Schneider, Your Coach Helping You Create Successful Outcomes (Performance Development Strategies) 3 months ago

Good morning! Yes, there is always a solution for every issue that might arise. I like your description of the actual inspection - I bet everyone laughs!

Posted by Kat Palmiotti, The House Kat (406-270-3667, kat@thehousekat.com, Broker, Blackstone Realty Group - brokered by eXp Realty) 3 months ago

I can remember when home inspections first became more prevalent in home sales in the mid 1980s.  Many agents worried they would be real sale killers.  And, that proved to be true to a certain degree.  However, we soon realized that the transparency they provided actually made transactions more honest, and puts everyone, including, buyers, sellers and agents, on more solid ground.  I highly recommend them to homebuyers and sellers!

Posted by Myrl Jeffcoat, Greater Sacramento Real Estate Agent (GreatWest Realty) 3 months ago

I loved home inspections for both sides, regardless of which side I was on.  Inspections are a protective layer for the buyers and sellers. 

It was the issues of health and safety that I focused on getting remedied before closing. Price took care of cosmetic and obsolescence issues.

Posted by Carol Williams, Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager (Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals.) 3 months ago

Hi Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland - You paint a very vivid and often accurate description!  

When I do my walk around with sellers, I take into account the age and condition of the house and may ask them to have their own inspection done prior to putting the home on the market.  Sellers who have done this avoided the pitfalls of a buyer inspection and the possibility of a renegotiation! 

Posted by Sheri Sperry - MCNE®, (928) 274-7355 ~ YOUR Solutions REALTOR® (Coldwell Banker Realty) 3 months ago

James Dray I, too, have had some "interesting" experiences and that one reason that I attend all. I would like to talk with you about your "long story". Would you blog it or give me a call. I am curious.

Posted by Margaret Rome Baltimore 410-530-2400, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) 3 months ago

Very true, there is a remedy for every situation, it just takes a willing buyer and a willing to seller to find it and accept it. I always tell my sellers now, there are three times where negotiation is going to take place, when you first sell, when you have the inspections and possibly with the appraisal. As you say, better to be prepared.

Posted by Nick Vandekar, 610-203-4543, Tredyffrin Easttown Realtor, Philly Main Line (Long & Foster Real Estate Inc 610-225-7400) 3 months ago

Michael Jacobs We have to prepare our buyers and sellers especially when it comes to the ETC

Posted by Margaret Rome Baltimore 410-530-2400, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) 3 months ago

Wayne Martin And a darn good mediator, for sure!

Posted by Margaret Rome Baltimore 410-530-2400, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) 3 months ago

Barbara Todaro There is always a remedy!

"...no matter what the issue may be, there's nothing within a structure that cannot be fixed or replace.....a location is forever...."

Posted by Margaret Rome Baltimore 410-530-2400, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) 3 months ago

RE Virtual Solutions  and former RN

Would love to talk with you but cannot find a phone number.

Posted by Margaret Rome Baltimore 410-530-2400, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) 3 months ago

Good to see you Nick Vandekar, 610-203-4543  Better to be prepared!

Posted by Margaret Rome Baltimore 410-530-2400, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) 3 months ago

Participate