Margaret Rome's Blog

head_left_image

Are You Afraid To Give Your Opinion?

 

This question was asked by my friend Praful Thakkar 

"How often do you suggest your buyers...back out after not-so-happy-results from the home inspection?"

 

Home Inspection

 

 

 

Most of the answers were...it's the buyer's decision...not up to me, I would never suggest a client to withdraw. 

 

My answer: 

""When working with a buyer, I suggest before the offer and after the inspection. Buyers are seeking our professional advice...are we afraid to give it?"...then I noticed the question was related to mold and added this.

"But...I also find that some investors love "mold!''  They can get a great price because others are so afraid to tackle the problem. Yes they do the remediation or gut the house and rebuild and sell. There is a market for everything.''

We need to know our client.

This is a good time to play devil's advocate. If the buyer does not like the house...point out some of the positives. If the buyer does like the house...point out some of the negatives. This is discussed when we start to work together to make sure they are agreeable. 

 

 

Too litigious too sell

 

This post, below, was written four years ago but is still relevant.

Are We Too Litigious To List or Sell?

 

I am enjoying the Q&A section for blog topics.

How about you?

 

Margaret Rome

 Search All Active Listings

 

Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome

Broker-Owner HomeRome Realty 

signature

 

 

Author of Real Estate the Rome Way

mrome@HomeRome.com

410.530.2400

 

 
Comment balloon 49 commentsMargaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland • August 12 2018 02:27PM

Comments

Hi Margaret- I would want you as my agent. As a buyer or seller, I want to know that the agent I've hired will tell me the truth and share her knowledge and expertise with me. It is ultimately my decision but at least that decision will be based on having as many facts as I can. 

Posted by Kathy Streib, Home Stager - Palm Beach County,FL -561-914-6224 (Room Service Home Staging) over 1 year ago

 

Thank you Kathy Streib Of course it is the client's decision but they are using us for our knowledge and expertise.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Good evening Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland,

You are so right they hired us for our knowledge and expertise..its always the clients decision but we need to be giving them our opinion, that is what we are hired to do.

Posted by Dorie Dillard CRS GRI ABR, Serving Buyers & Sellers in NW Austin Real Estate (Coldwell Banker United Realtors® ~ 512.750.6899) over 1 year ago

Hi Margaret,  Buyers do need to know all the pros and cons. Your point is well taken to consider the positives in the negatives and vice versa. 

Posted by Carol Williams, Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager (Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals.) over 1 year ago

Our clients hired us for our knowledge, advice and resources Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland and that's what I provide. 

Your post will be ever timely as this subject will always be relevant!

Posted by Lisa Von Domek, ....Experience Isn't Expensive.... It's Priceless! (Lisa Von Domek Team) over 1 year ago

Morning Dorie Dillard You are so right. Of course it their decision but have hired us for our advice.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Carol Williams I do like to point out positives and negatives and see what is most important to the clients.

Example:  Positive / Negative....Do you want to be near a major highway? Road noise can bother some and not others. 

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Lisa Von Domek If we are not comfortable or knowledgeable enough to give our opinion...we may not be in the right profession.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

We are of like minds on that Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland 

Posted by Lisa Von Domek, ....Experience Isn't Expensive.... It's Priceless! (Lisa Von Domek Team) over 1 year ago

I think it is our responsibility to point out to clients things they might not have considered or have overlooked.  I give my opinion; but the final decision must always be the client's.

Posted by Myrl Jeffcoat, Greater Sacramento Real Estate Agent (GreatWest Realty) over 1 year ago

Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland - What a GREAT answer about mold! Agents need to always remember, we live in a litigious world. People are always asking questions. Even if we know the answer to their questions or have an opinion, it's wise to take a step back before spewing out something we'd regret or that can get us into trouble. 

"We need to know our client." I would add, we need to really, seriously, and most definitely think twice before answering. We live in such a fast paced, answer me now society. This can open up a wicked Pandora's box if we aren't careful. 

Your response is a golden lesson that needs to be learned.

Congratulations! You're post is being featured in "The BananaTude Group!"

Posted by Patricia Feager, MBA, CRS, GRI,MRP, Selling Homes Changing Lives (DFW FINE PROPERTIES) over 1 year ago

Patricia Feager Your comment would make a great stand alone blog post. I love how you really read each of our posts and then have such a meaningful reply...and that is always!

Thanks for the feature in The BananaTude Group!

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Myrl Jeffcoat And that is why you are such a good Realtor® and teacher. RE is lucky to have you.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Margaret in the middle of one of those right now! It's up to the clients. I've given them their options and they will decide. Move forward or on to the next property. I have an idea of what they''ll be doing ....

Posted by Anna Banana Kruchten Broker/Owner, CRB, CRS, 602-380-4886 (Phoenix Property Shoppe) over 1 year ago

There are times when I will say absolutely there are issues you should run away from, but most of the time I give enough information so an informative and clear thinking decision can be made by the client.

Posted by Joe Pryor, REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties (The Virtual Real Estate Team) over 1 year ago

Anna Banana Kruchten CRB, CRS 602-380-4886 After giving the options...it's up to them. Time to fish or get off the yacht. Hope your clients make the right decision.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Joe Pryor  You have that right...."give enough information so an informative and clear thinking decision can be made by the client."

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

I'm the information provider - they make the decision but, I give them all of their options from which to make an educated decision. 

As my inspector says, "There's nothing about a house you can't fix!" To that I add, it really depends upon how much you can stomach! LOL

Great post, Margaret!

Posted by Debe Maxwell, CRS, The right Charlotte REALTOR! (www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310) over 1 year ago

Hi Margaret,
Good post. I’m never afraid to speak up. I will tell my client if the home inspection isn’t to their satisfaction or they don’t think they would be happy in the home we should keep looking. I’m not there to just sell my clients a home. I want them to be excited about their decision and know they will love the place they bought.

Posted by Steve Higgins (RE/MAX Kelowna) over 1 year ago

Meanwhile clients are left wondering why they're paying agents the big bucks when they can't get an answer on key questions because someone has told the agents "you can't say this or you'll get sued". 

I'm here to provide the pros and cons so they can make the right decision for their circumstances.  And yes, I have advised continuing with a purchase might not be the best thing to do.  We know the sellers are tight with money, buyers don't want a money pit, and that bowed basement wall isn't going to get better without expensive help.  The inspector's fee did what it was supposed to do, protect the buyer's best interests.

Posted by Liz and Bill Spear, RE/MAX Elite Warren County OH (Cincinnati/Dayton) (RE/MAX Elite 513.520.5305 www.LizTour.com) over 1 year ago

I imagine myself five years from now when they call me to list their home.  If there are negatives that I will bring up to them when listing their home, I want to be on the record at the buying time as having warned them about those things.  

Posted by Tim Maitski, Truth, Excellence and a Good Deal (Atlanta Communities Real Estate Brokerage) over 1 year ago

A licensed person's opinion is a professional one not an emotional one

Posted by Richie Alan Naggar, agent & author (people first...then business Ran Right Realty ) over 1 year ago

Hi Margaret, I hope you have been well. I agree that our clients look to us for advice. That being said, though, there have been a number of times that a client has changed their mind as to what was acceptable to them, surprising me, and probably them. We wouldn't be living in the house, so in the long run, it is their decision. Presenting facts and helping them get further information is definitely something we should do.

Posted by Marney Kirk, Towson, Maryland Real Estate (Cummings & Co. Realtors) over 1 year ago

So true - one man's garbage is another man's opportunity. It's not up to us to decide for them.

Posted by Wayne and Jean Marie Zuhl, The Last Names You'll Ever Need in Real Estate (Samsel & Associates) over 1 year ago

Debe Maxwell, CRS And I say there isn't a house that can't be fixed with an unlimited budget.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Steve Higgins Spoken like a true pro. You are not  just selling sticks and bricks.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Liz and Bill Spear This answer would make a good stand alone post. The inspector did the right job. Now is the time for making the right decisions.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

@tim maitski When working with a buyer, I think of them as future sellers. I want to make sure the home you buy is one I would would want to sell in the future.

 

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Richie Alan Naggar   ONe would hope..."A licensed person's opinion is a professional one not an emotional one.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Marney Kirk Yes we all change our minds but it is important to be a guide and point out the positive and the negative so that that can make the right decision.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Wayne and Jean Marie Zuhl  We don't make that decision but we can give them the pros and cons from a different point of view. 

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

If my buyers ask my opinion on any issue, I'm giving my opinion and the justification or compelling reasons for my opinion. Yesterday, I advised my buyer not to make an offer to buy a property he wanted to buy.

Today, I received an email thanking me for my help and after re-examining all the issues, he decided it would be a mistake for him to buy the property. Your clients rely on your expertize to guide them in whatever decision they will ultimately make and sometimes your advice is rejected, yet, should that occur, any adverse consequences wouldn't be because of your opinion. 

Posted by Kimo Jarrett, Pro Lifestyle Solutions (WikiWiki Realty) over 1 year ago

I almost always give my unfettered opinion. It's why they hire me. Of course, I'm working with sellers, so the opinions could vary from

should I fix this?

should we take this offer?

what should we counter?

And I give my opinion. I tell them it is what I would do, not necessarily what they should do, and I explain why, backup my opinion.

But if a seller wants to say, I think you're full of BS and I disagree, so be it. They make their own beds.

Posted by Elizabeth Weintraub Sacramento Realtor Top 1%, Put 40 years of experience to work for you (RE/MAX Gold) over 1 year ago

Precisely, Margaret! That comment really does sort of bring them back to earth, doesn't it?!

Posted by Debe Maxwell, CRS, The right Charlotte REALTOR! (www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310) over 1 year ago

Kimo Jarrett  Your comment would also make a good stand alone blog post. I don't ever want to hear someone  purchased the wrong house from me. 

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Elizabeth Weintraub Sacramento Real Estate Agent, Top 1% of Lyon Agents Unfettered opinions has gotten you a tremendous  amount of success. You tell it like you see it and continue to  make clients for life. 

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

I'm not afraid to voice my opinion but seldom are the "faults" so severe that it cannot be fixed. However, if the seller says he or she is not going to comply with what the buyer wants and its an expensive repair, its up to the buyer to make the final decision.

Posted by Eva B. Liland Century 21 Doug Anderson, Glad to be of Service 661-714-1643 (Century 21 Doug Anderson) over 1 year ago

Eva B. Liland with Century 21 Doug Anderson Giving our opinion does not obligate them to go along. It is always up to the client to make that final decision.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Hi Margaret,  That's what they pay us for, our opinion.  This is a great post!

Posted by Ricki Eichler McCallum, Broker,GRI,ABR, e-Pro, TAHS (CastNet Realty) over 1 year ago

 

Thank you Ricki Eichler McCallum 

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Too many times we let emotions get in the way of making a good decision. 

Posted by Raul Rodriguez, Looking out for the client's interest and not my p (Covenant Partners Realty) over 1 year ago

Raul Rodriguez  Ah yes... Emotions. It has been said you cannot fly a plane in panic mode!

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

If a buyer asks for our opinion we never sugar coat it.  There can be blind spots a buyer has, that you can see right through.  It is your job to help them where you can.  

Posted by Kevin Mackessy, Dedicated. Qualified. Local. (Blue Olive Properties, LLC) over 1 year ago

Kevin Mackessy  So true...if asked for our opinion...be up front...no sugar. 

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Good topic and great answer. It all depends on the buyer and the situation.

Posted by Georgie Hunter R(S) 58089, Maui Real Estate sales and lifestyle info (Hawai'i Life Real Estate Brokers) over 1 year ago

Georgie Hunter R(S) 58089 Good to see you. How have you been?

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland  I've been fine thanks!  Keeping busy and enjoying the summer.  I hope you are too.

Posted by Georgie Hunter R(S) 58089, Maui Real Estate sales and lifestyle info (Hawai'i Life Real Estate Brokers) over 1 year ago

I always prefer to be candid with my buyers! Buying a home and living with regrets is something that I don’t want for none of my clients.

Posted by Ricardo Mello, Manhattan & Miami Real Estate Agent (Manhattan Miami Real Estate) over 1 year ago

Ricardo Mello No regrets.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Participate