Margaret Rome's Blog

head_left_image

Home Inspection Simple Preparations

 

When we are busy selling properties, the home inspection plays a big part.

It is so important to let the seller know what to expect.

With a smile, I say it is similar to a root canal and a colonoscopy at the same time.

 

Here are a few things to help sellers get ready:

First have the sellers leave the house!

Let them know it could be a number of hours. It could be 1-2 or it could be 5-6 but let them know you will stay in touch. They do need to be available by phone especially if there are any questions.

 

Suggest they have clothes in the washing machine and in the dryer, dishes in dishwasher and the appliance set to "start".

You've now made it easy for the inspector ...who does not have to "figure out" your appliances.

Make sure all the windows and doors open and close and are not blocked.

Make sure there is clear access to the attic, to the electrical panel and to the major systems of the house.

Having warranties available are helpful so you don't have to guess "how old is the HVAC or the roof?"

Go ahead and fill the jetted tub ahead of time...you can even use cold water. Again...saves time... the inspector just needs to push the start button.

 

 

And don't forget to have the sellers leave the house! (worth repeating)

 

Deals can be lost at the HI. Be prepared, be flexible and be ready to negotiate.

If you have any questions about inspecting your home.

Call Margaret Rome

 

Margaret Rome

 Search All Active Listings

 

Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome

Broker-Owner HomeRome Realty 

signature

 

 

Author of Real Estate the Rome Way

mrome@HomeRome.com

410.530.2400

Margaret Rome on Zillow

Comment balloon 18 commentsMargaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland • June 19 2018 05:14PM

Comments

Great advice, especially on starting appliances so inspectors can see they work.

Posted by Michelle Carr-Crowe Just Call 408-252-8900 Top 1%!, Family Helping Families Buy & Sell Homes 40+ Years (Get Results Team...Just Call (408) 252-8900! . DRE #00901962 . Licensed to Sell since 1985 . Altas Realty) 3 months ago

Excellent suggestions for home inspection preparedness, Margaret.  It's not advice we generally see, but it's valuable.

Posted by Myrl Jeffcoat, Greater Sacramento Real Estate Agent (GreatWest Realty) 3 months ago

CONGRATULATIONS Margaret, on having this blog FEATURED in the Old Farts Club group!    

Posted by Myrl Jeffcoat, Greater Sacramento Real Estate Agent (GreatWest Realty) 3 months ago

This is good advice for home sellers. I hope they will read this post 

Posted by Gita Bantwal, REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel (RE/MAX Centre Realtors) 3 months ago

Good morning Margaret. Very sage advice to have the seller prepared! Enjoy your day.

Carol Williams this is my submittal for the week!

Posted by Wayne Martin, Real Estate Broker - Retired (Wayne M Martin) 3 months ago

Hi Margaret,
All great advice... especially:
Have the sellers leave the house! 

Posted by Carol Williams, "Customized Mentoring & Marketing Services" (U.S.: I specialize in helping agents who have been in the business 2 years or less create a thriving business.) 3 months ago

Margaret we typcially have pre-inspections so we know what to address and fiz before going on the market.  If we don't - all your points are excellent!  Especially having sellers out of house!

Posted by Anna Banana Kruchten CRB, CRS 602-380-4886, Arizona's Top Banana! (Phoenix Property Shoppe) 3 months ago

Carol Williams The best advice...make them leave.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) 3 months ago

Anna Banana Kruchten CRB, CRS, Broker You are brilliant for doing the pre listing inspection. Have you written about this.  I know a few agents won't take a listing without first doing an inspection.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) 3 months ago

I like the idea of having the appliances stacked and ready to go. I wouldn't have thought of that!

Posted by Kat Palmiotti, The House Kat (Grand Lux Realty, Monroe NY, 914-419-0270, kat@thehousekat.com) 3 months ago

Kat Palmiotti One of my clients, also a REALTOR, shared this trick and wrote notes to the home inspector when I sold her property.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) 3 months ago

And don't forget to have the sellers leave the house. It is worth repeating and repeating. :) I also love your explanation - like a root canal and colonoscopy. Lol, lol and so true. 

Posted by Debb Janes EcoBroker and Bernie Stea JD, REALTORS® in Clark County, WA (ViewHomes of Clark County - Nature As Neighbors) 3 months ago

Debb Janes EcoBroker and Bernie Stea JD I just used this same analogy on my home inspection yesterday. A sense of humor gets us through stressful situations.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) 3 months ago

That is great advice, Margaret. I love the idea of having the appliances ready to launch. The home inspector gets to test the equipment and you get your clothes washed. Win-win.

Posted by Mike Cooper, Your Winchester, VA Real Estate Sales Pro (Cornerstone Business Group Inc) 3 months ago

Mike Cooper Good to see you. Clothes washed and dryed and dishes washed. Win-win.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) 3 months ago

Great suggestions, Margaret. Some sellers forget what the inspection is like from the time when they bought, and are not preparing appropriately.Inspectors here generally do not run the washer and dryer .

Jeff

Posted by Jeff Dowler, CRS, The Southern California Relocation Dude - Carlsbad (Solutions Real Estate ) 3 months ago

Jeff Dowler, CRS Why?  Do your inspectors check any of the appiances?

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) 3 months ago

Jeff Dowler, CRS Very interesting.

Is there a reason NOT to check the W/D or are they excluded items?

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) 3 months ago

Participate