Margaret Rome's Blog

head_left_image

Home Inspection Prior To Listing

 

Most of us wait until after we have a contract offer before we move forward on a full home inspection.

The normal procedure  in our Baltimore area...the buyer orders and pays for all the inspections.

 

PRE Home Inspection Margaret Rome

 

 

 There can be many in addition to the general inspection.

To name a few... radon, septic, well yield, water quality, chimney, mold, structural, roof, HVAC, termite, water penetration, in ground pools, spas, jetted tubs, polybutylene piping, underground oil tanks, electrical and lead based paint inspections.

 

For those of us in the business for a while...we have seen challenges with all of the above.

An inspection can take many hours...why not get it out of the way prior to listing?

Recently went out on a listing appointment and the seller asked me to walk through the home and let them know what they needed to do to get the house ready for the market. I always give my suggestions to the obvious things like fixing,  curb appeal, repairing, painting, cleaning, de-cluttering etc.

But recently I am thinking it might be wise to do a full inspection BEFORE  listing.

Some may argue...the seller  has to disclose whatever is found.

Well yes. That is the idea.  When you know what needs to be done...go ahead and have it fixed BEFORE it hits the market, BEFORE an offer comes in.

Be prepared! Be proactive. If there is a concern...have it addressed. If you have a defect in the roof...that's nice to know BEFORE there is a problem.

You can then share the inspection when the buyer makes an offer along with the  documentation of the repaired items or an estimate to do the repairs.

 

How many are doing home inspections prior to listing the property?

 

Margaret Rome 410-530-2400

 Search All Active Listings

 

Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome

Broker-Owner HomeRome Realty 

signature

 

 

Author of Real Estate the Rome Way

mrome@HomeRome.com

410.530.2400

Margaret Rome on Zillow

Comment balloon 16 commentsMargaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland • February 19 2017 03:38AM

Comments

Margaret, like the Baltimore area sellers, it is commonplace for the Houston-area buyers to hire an inspector. However, if the sellers are relocating--the relocation companies often require the sellers to have the home inspected BEFORE it goes on the market for the reasons you mentioned.  Priced right + No surprise repairs = Faster to the closing table!!  

Posted by Sonja Patterson, Texas Monthly 5-Star Realtor Recipient for the Hou (Keller Williams - BV) over 1 year ago

I do encourage this once in a while when I know there are issues and the seller doesn't seem to think so.

Posted by William Feela, Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No. (WHISPERING PINES REALTY) over 1 year ago

William Feela Good idea but I am thinking about making it a requirement!

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

If I see a lot of deferred maintenance I often suggest a pre-inspection as a eye opener to my client Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland 

Posted by Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®,CRS,, Tacoma Washington Agent/Broker & Market Authority! (RE/MAX Northwest.) over 1 year ago

Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, Broker, Tacoma Washington Sometimes we cannot see the challenges that may be brought up at an inspection. I am starting to think about doing more pre inspections.

Always good to see you.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

ALL ABOUT REAL ESTATE Margaret Rome

I will be talking about this on Sunday. You are welcome to call in.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

When I was trained in The Bay Area (San Mateo) it was common practice to do a pre-inspection, pre-pest, preliminary Title Report, TDS and SPQ. Fix what we plan to fix and be prepared for the rest in negotiations or when pricing to begin with. I'm one of few that do it in SoCAL, but it's catching on slowly here.As you stated so well...

"That is the idea.  When you know what needs to be done...go ahead and have it fixed BEFORE it hits the market, BEFORE an offer comes in.

Be prepared! Be proactive."

Posted by Thomas J. Nelson, Realtor, ePRO, CRS, RCS-D, & Host of Postcards From Success Podcast (Big Block Realty 858.232.8722) over 1 year ago

Thomas J. Nelson, Realtor, CRS Glad to see that you are doing pre inspections. How is your podcast going.

 

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Thomas J. Nelson, Realtor, CRS 

Yes, see the link below.

 

 

 

Margaret Rome Radio

 Listen to past shows.

 

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Hi Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland - Generally, sellers know what is wrong with their homes and should get it fixed but I agree with William Feela - sometimes we have to get a "second opinion" because the seller is in denial!

Posted by Sheri Sperry - MCNE®, (928) 274-7355 ~ YOUR Solutions REALTOR® (Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage) over 1 year ago

Hi Margaret - There is just one brokerage here that does that regularly, but we have also on occasion, when we feel like there are going to be some issues that are better addressed prior to listing.

Posted by Dick Greenberg, Northern Colorado Residential Real Estate (New Paradigm Partners LLC) over 1 year ago

Margaret it has been my practice for many years to have a home inspection long before the home goes on the market.  We don't want any big surprises popping up during the inspection period.  When we do so the entire transaction typically goes much, much smoother and it's less stressful for both sellers and buyers.

Posted by Anna Banana Kruchten CRB, CRS 602-380-4886, Arizona's Top Banana! (Phoenix Property Shoppe) over 1 year ago

If I sense any issues with deferred maintenance I try to get the seller to do an inspection and get things fixed. Sometimes a bunch of little things can destroy a sale.

Posted by Joe Pryor, REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties (The Virtual Real Estate Team) over 1 year ago

Joe Pryor Alsways good to see you.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Honest question as someone who's purchased two homes, had a not great experience with the inspection for one and a great experience with the inspection for the second. Is it a good idea to get more than one general inspection? I'd be inclined to get at least two, on the theory that two inspectors ought to see the same major elements, but might notice different, less signficant issues. I would then be that much readier to fix things immediately after the purchase. And if one does miss a major element but the other catches it, so much the better. Could that be a part of negotiations, if the buyer could somehow reassure the seller that this wasn't a fishing expedition for the ridiculous, like a cracked faceplate on an electrical outlet, just to try to lowball a bid?

Posted by Lauren Williams, CPO, Professional Organizer: Puget Sound homes (Casual Uncluttering LLC) over 1 year ago

Lauren Williams It's not the quantity of inspections but the quality of the inspector. You could turn your comment into a blog post.

Posted by Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland, Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome ( HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400) over 1 year ago

Participate